Once the decision is made to divorce in Rhode Island, a party must then face the statutory requirements in proceeding with their Rhode Island divorce.
Each state in the United States has their own process for divorce. Rhode Island requires at least one of the parties to be a domiciled inhabitant of Rhode Island for at least one year prior to the filing of the Complaint for an Absolute Divorce. There are nuances in the law which allow for an earlier filing which is known as a Divorce from Bed & Board, but generally a one-year residency requirement is the norm.
Likewise, absent an emergency situation requiring Motions for Relief, there is also a 60-day waiting period after your Rhode Island divorce Complaint is filed before the matter can be heard in Court. After your divorce is heard and the Court makes its ruling, there is a 90 day period before the divorce can be finalized.